Tees pub finalist in three national pub award categories

Teesside’s most decorated restaurant is battling it out with other eateries from around the UK in three separate categories of a national awards competition.

Chadwicks Inn Maltby has made the last six of the Best Wine Pub category in the John Smith’s Great British Pub awards, a renowned competition among restaurateurs which attracts hundreds of entries from around the country.

Meanwhile head chef Steve Lawford has been shortlisted in the final of the Chef of the Year category and sous chef Scott Sutherland has made the last four in the Young Chef of the Year category.

They’ve already taken part in a final “cook off”, held in Oxfordshire, and the winners of all categories will be revealed at the awards ceremony, at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in London, on September 6.

“We’re absolutely thrilled to have made the final in not just one of the categories, but three!” smiled Chadwicks co-owner Helen Gill.

“We know the competition attracts hundreds of entries from all around the UK, so just to be shortlisted to the finals is a great achievement.”

Steve, age 31, and Scott, aged 22, have both been with Chadwicks for four years.

The renowned restaurant was celebrating again earlier this year after retaining a prestigious Michelin Bib Gourmand award for a third successive year.

Chadwicks is again the region’s only restaurant to receive the much sought-after accolade, exclusive to Michelin Guide-listed restaurants offering exceptionally good food at moderate prices.

With two AA Rosettes and a listing in the Michelin Guide for the past eight years, Helen is hoping the awards keep coming.

“We have a very hard-working team here at Chadwicks and it really is nice to see all the hard work pay off with recognition like this,” added Helen.

“It would be lovely to win one of them, the icing on the cake so to speak, but we’re happy with being finalists and we’ll enjoy the occasion.”

Helen and co-owners Gary Gill and Lee Tolley will join chefs Steven and Scott at the awards final in September.